you don’t know what you’re missing

I love music, and when I say I love it I mean I LOVE it. I always have music and if you catch me without something playing I can guarantee you that there’s a tune running through my head. I was listening to Mumford & Sons Radio on Pandora yesterday (which I recommend by the way, just about the best station ever) when “Show Me What I’m Looking For” by Carolina Liar came on. My initial thought was “Wow, I haven’t heard this song in a long time, probably for a good reason, really.” Not that I hate the song I just think it’s outlived its popularity. I probably would have skipped if it weren’t for Pandora’s limit on skips, and I wasn’t about to waste a skip. So I was jamming out (like always) when I really started to listen to the words.

“Save me I’m lost, oh Lord, I’ve been waiting for you. I’ll pay any cost, save me from being confused. Show me what I’m looking for.”

Now, I don’t know if Carolina Liar has Christian members or if they were writing about Jesus but that’s not the point I’m looking to make. Clearly, this song could be connected with a guy’s cry for help from the Lord. This, to me, isn’t especially interesting in and of itself, I hear music all the time with this theme. What was interesting to me, is that at the peak of its popularity this song was pretty dang popular. It was one of those songs that you could hear playing on multiple stations at once. Then I got confused. The words are pretty clear, it’s not like some of dang songs kids play nowadays with their blasted rap music (jk, love me some dirty beatz), so how could people just skip over words they hear so frequently and not be curious about their meaning. It got me thinking about what other songs people hear and are miss the message of the lyrics. One song came to mind right away: “Ooh Ahh” by Grits.

Now, Grits IS a Christian hip-hop/rap group (tobyMac even has a verse in this song). This song is timeless in my mind, or maybe I should say it hasn’t lost too much popularity since it came out in the early 2000s. People everywhere know the song, many can probably even recite every single word along with the song. They may have even looked up the lyrics at one point or another. This song is so plainly Christian it is amazing to me that the lyrics haven’t sunk in more with people than they have. I’ll show you what I mean:

“It’s times like this that make me say, ‘Lord if you see me please come my way,’ leavin’ bread crumbs for when I stray, rely on sacrifice and the price you paid”

“I’m callin’ on the Savior to be all that I need, please forgive me my behavior had me lost at light speed”

“and I believe there’s a kingdom coming, I believe that if you seek the truth you don’t have to look far ’cause it’s gonna find you”

Tell me that doesn’t shout “Jesus!” I can’t remember, but if we’re being honest, I’m pretty sure I was one of the people I’m talking about right now. I had the song on my iPod, listened to it, knew the words, but never cared to learn what the words meant. All I was looking for was a catchy beat so why would I? So what changed that made these lyrics mean anything to me? Not surprisingly, the answer is Jesus. When the Lord moved into my life he gave me a new perspective on everything in life, including the lyrics to some Grits song. So can I even get frustrated that the significance of these lyrics is under appreciated when I used to ignore them myself? Ephesians 2:3 speaks of our lives before Christ saying that “All of us also lived among them (meaning in verse 2, “those who are disobedient,” not followers of Christ) at one time.” I once lived in a way that didn’t allow me to see the whole meaning of the lyrics, I was blind to so many things. When Jesus took hold of me, everything I knew and the way I saw things changed because of it like it says in 2 Corinthians 5:17, “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!”

How true is that?! Who I was before Christ came into my life is not even comparable to who I am today. Different things give me joy. Different things cause me grief. I deal with situations differently than I used to. Even the way I think is drastically different! Thank God for how He has changed my life! And while we should be SO thankful for our own salvation, our hearts should also break for those who have not received the saving grace of God. As a believer, can you see how much Jesus has moved into your life and changed it for the better? Why would you not want everyone to experience this joy you have experienced?

Earlier in 2 Corinthians it says “The god of this age has blinded the unbelievers, so that they cannot see the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ.” (2 Corinthians 4:4) Unbelievers are blind to the joy of living with Christ. They only hear the instrumental and the sound of the words. When you have died and risen with Christ you see “the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ.” You not only hear feel rhythm and hear sounds but you see deeper, you see the beauty in the lyrics and what they mean. Salvation changes you, it introduces you to a world you would not know otherwise full of grace and peace. And, let me tell you, if you haven’t experienced this life, you don’t know what you’re missing.

Leave a Reply

